Spiffed up sidelights for Fall: Frosted Glass Vinyl fun!

10 Sep

This is a project that had been rolling around in my head since before I even had a Silhouette SD to call my very own.  I had this “frosted glass look” window cling film up in our front door sidelights for a few years, and it was getting worn looking. I thought…hm, that frosted glass stuff would work GREAT in the sidelights, and I could change it out seasonally! Finally, after a little bit of procrastination and a few learning experiences (two sheets of Dusted Crystal vinyl wasted to some wierd issue with the machine not lining up properly after cutting a few pages, spending an evening perfecting my vinyl “weeding” technique on the subway art portion) we have this:

I am absolutely in love with the way it came out!!!

Katelyn helped me think of fun Fall words for the “Subway Art” sections, and the leaves are from the Silhouette online store.  I applied the vinyl to the inside of the window since it is “indoor vinyl” and all, and I didn’t want it to get peely or potentially not come off as easily as it should.

It’s impossible to capture on camera, but the frosted glass vinyl looks even cooler at night from the inside, with the lights from the outside hitting it -it kind of sparkles!  We will definitely be updating this for winter with snowflakes and fun snowy words!

2 Responses to “Spiffed up sidelights for Fall: Frosted Glass Vinyl fun!”

  1. Julie aka Momma September 10, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    looks great – what a great idea!!

  2. adidas thailand April 23, 2014 at 9:50 pm #

    I don’t even understand how I ended up right here, but
    I assumed this publish was great. I don’t
    realize who you are but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger in case you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

Leave a comment